Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
SUNY Old Westbury and SUNY Polytechnic Institute are both public institutions — SUNY Old Westbury in Old Westbury, NY and SUNY Polytechnic Institute in Utica, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Old Westbury, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 83.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,162
Tuition: $18,842/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 44.6%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Social sciences, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Old Westbury, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Social sciences.
Utica, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 81.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,849
Tuition: $21,215/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 55.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Engineering
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Utica, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
| Factor | SUNY Old Westbury | SUNY Polytechnic Institute |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 83.6% | 81.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1025–1370 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 22–30 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 4,162 | 1,849 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $18,842/year | $21,215/year |
| Average net price after aid | $11,282 | $14,164 |
| Graduation rate | 44.6% | 55.1% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $58,526 | $64,355 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 17.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Old Westbury, NY | Utica, NY |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Social sciences, Education | Business and marketing, Computer science, Engineering |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (83.6% vs 81.3%). SUNY Old Westbury has a lower average net price after grant aid ($11,282 vs $14,164). SUNY Polytechnic Institute reports the higher graduation rate (55.1% vs 44.6%). SUNY Old Westbury is the larger undergraduate campus (4,162 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
SUNY Old Westbury vs CUNY Medgar Evers College
83.6% vs 86.1% acceptance rate
SUNY Old Westbury vs SUNY College of Agriculture and Technology at Cobleskill
83.6% vs 84.0% acceptance rate
SUNY Old Westbury vs State University of New York at Oswego
83.6% vs 80.5% acceptance rate
SUNY Old Westbury vs State University of New York at Plattsburgh
83.6% vs 78.4% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between SUNY Old Westbury and SUNY Polytechnic Institute
SUNY Old Westbury has an acceptance rate of 83.6%; SUNY Polytechnic Institute is around 81.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
SUNY Old Westbury tuition is $18,842/year. SUNY Polytechnic Institute is $21,215/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool