Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
SUNY Polytechnic Institute and SUNY College at Potsdam are both public institutions — SUNY Polytechnic Institute in Utica, NY and SUNY College at Potsdam in Potsdam, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Utica, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 81.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,849
Tuition: $21,215/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 55.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Engineering
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Utica, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
Potsdam, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 77.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,823
Tuition: $18,678/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 45.3%
Top programs: Education, Visual and performing arts, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Potsdam, NY with published program strength in Education and Visual and performing arts.
| Factor | SUNY Polytechnic Institute | SUNY College at Potsdam |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 81.3% | 77.7% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1025–1370 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 22–30 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,849 | 1,823 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $21,215/year | $18,678/year |
| Average net price after aid | $14,164 | $13,624 |
| Graduation rate | 55.1% | 45.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $64,355 | $47,866 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 13.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Utica, NY | Potsdam, NY |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Computer science, Engineering | Education, Visual and performing arts, Social sciences |
SUNY College at Potsdam is more selective (77.7% vs 81.3% acceptance rate). SUNY College at Potsdam has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,624 vs $14,164). SUNY Polytechnic Institute reports the higher graduation rate (55.1% vs 45.3%). SUNY Polytechnic Institute is the larger undergraduate campus (1,849 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
SUNY Polytechnic Institute vs SUNY College of Agriculture and Technology at Cobleskill
81.3% vs 84.0% acceptance rate
SUNY Polytechnic Institute vs SUNY at Fredonia
81.3% vs 77.7% acceptance rate
SUNY Polytechnic Institute vs State University of New York at Oswego
81.3% vs 80.5% acceptance rate
SUNY Polytechnic Institute vs St Bonaventure University
81.3% vs 81.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between SUNY Polytechnic Institute and SUNY College at Potsdam
SUNY Polytechnic Institute has an acceptance rate of 81.3%; SUNY College at Potsdam is around 77.7%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
SUNY Polytechnic Institute tuition is $21,215/year. SUNY College at Potsdam is $18,678/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool