Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
The University of Montana and Montana State University Billings are both public institutions — The University of Montana in Missoula, MT and Montana State University Billings in Billings, MT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Missoula, MT · Public
Acceptance rate: 95.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,488
Tuition: $33,671/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 48.0%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Social sciences, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Missoula, MT with published program strength in Business and marketing and Social sciences.
Billings, MT · Public
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 2,626
Tuition: $22,897/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 30.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Billings, MT with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | The University of Montana | Montana State University Billings |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 95.9% | Not reported |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1190 average |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 23–28 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,488 | 2,626 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $33,671/year | $22,897/year |
| Average net price after aid | $16,784 | $16,524 |
| Graduation rate | 48.0% | 30.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $44,511 | $44,296 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 17.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Missoula, MT | Billings, MT |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Social sciences, Health professions | Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology |
Montana State University Billings has a lower average net price after grant aid ($16,524 vs $16,784). The University of Montana reports the higher graduation rate (48.0% vs 30.0%). The University of Montana is the larger undergraduate campus (7,488 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
The University of Montana vs Montana Technological University
95.9% vs 91.0% acceptance rate
The University of Montana vs The University of Montana-Western
95.9% vs 99.8% acceptance rate
The University of Montana vs Montana State University
95.9% vs 82.1% acceptance rate
The University of Montana vs Montana State University-Northern
95.9% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between The University of Montana and Montana State University Billings
The University of Montana has an acceptance rate of 95.9%; Montana State University Billings is around Not reported. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
The University of Montana tuition is $33,671/year. Montana State University Billings is $22,897/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool