Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
The University of Montana-Western and Montana State University Billings are both public institutions — The University of Montana-Western in Dillon, MT and Montana State University Billings in Billings, MT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Dillon, MT · Public
Acceptance rate: 99.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,198
Tuition: $20,130/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 51.2%
Top programs: Education, Business and marketing, Agriculture
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Dillon, MT with published program strength in Education and Business and marketing.
Billings, MT · Public
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 2,626
Tuition: $22,897/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 30.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Billings, MT with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | The University of Montana-Western | Montana State University Billings |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 99.8% | Not reported |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,198 | 2,626 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $20,130/year | $22,897/year |
| Average net price after aid | $16,558 | $16,524 |
| Graduation rate | 51.2% | 30.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $43,229 | $44,296 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Dillon, MT | Billings, MT |
| Largest program areas | Education, Business and marketing, Agriculture | Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology |
Montana State University Billings has a lower average net price after grant aid ($16,524 vs $16,558). The University of Montana-Western reports the higher graduation rate (51.2% vs 30.0%). Montana State University Billings is the larger undergraduate campus (2,626 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
The University of Montana-Western vs Montana Technological University
99.8% vs 91.0% acceptance rate
The University of Montana-Western vs The University of Montana
99.8% vs 95.9% acceptance rate
The University of Montana-Western vs Montana State University-Northern
99.8% vs Not reported acceptance rate
The University of Montana-Western vs Montana State University
99.8% vs 82.1% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between The University of Montana-Western and Montana State University Billings
The University of Montana-Western has an acceptance rate of 99.8%; Montana State University Billings is around Not reported. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
The University of Montana-Western tuition is $20,130/year. Montana State University Billings is $22,897/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool