Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
United States Coast Guard Academy and Trinity College are both public institutions — United States Coast Guard Academy in New London, CT and Trinity College in Hartford, CT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
New London, CT · Public
Acceptance rate: 22.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,108
Tuition: Not reported
Student-faculty ratio: 7.0:1
Graduation rate: 92.7%
Top programs: Engineering, Social sciences, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in New London, CT with published program strength in Engineering and Social sciences.
Hartford, CT · Private
Acceptance rate: 29.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,146
Tuition: $70,770/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 83.8%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Hartford, CT with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
| Factor | United States Coast Guard Academy | Trinity College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 22.4% | 29.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1240–1400 |
| 1298–1470 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 27–32 | 30–34 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,108 | 2,146 |
| Out-of-state tuition | Not reported | $70,770/year |
| Average net price after aid | Not reported | $34,832 |
| Graduation rate | 92.7% | 83.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | Not reported | $90,779 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 7.0:1 | 9.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | New London, CT | Hartford, CT |
| Largest program areas | Engineering, Social sciences, Business and marketing | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology |
United States Coast Guard Academy is more selective (22.4% vs 29.3% acceptance rate). United States Coast Guard Academy reports the higher graduation rate (92.7% vs 83.8%). Trinity College is the larger undergraduate campus (2,146 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
United States Coast Guard Academy vs Wesleyan University
22.4% vs 16.5% acceptance rate
United States Coast Guard Academy vs Connecticut College
22.4% vs 37.0% acceptance rate
United States Coast Guard Academy vs Charter Oak State College
22.4% vs Not reported acceptance rate
United States Coast Guard Academy vs Fairfield University
22.4% vs 33.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between United States Coast Guard Academy and Trinity College
United States Coast Guard Academy has an acceptance rate of 22.4%; Trinity College is around 29.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
United States Coast Guard Academy tuition is Not reported. Trinity College is $70,770/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool