Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
United States Naval Academy and Johns Hopkins University are both public institutions — United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD and Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Annapolis, MD · Public
Acceptance rate: 9.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,474
Tuition: Not reported
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 92.9%
Top programs: Engineering, Social sciences, Physical sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Annapolis, MD with published program strength in Engineering and Social sciences.
Baltimore, MD · Private
Acceptance rate: 6.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,693
Tuition: $65,230/year
Student-faculty ratio: 6.0:1
Graduation rate: 93.8%
Top programs: Biological sciences, Engineering, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Baltimore, MD with published program strength in Biological sciences and Engineering.
| Factor | United States Naval Academy | Johns Hopkins University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 9.3% | 6.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1210–1410 |
| 1520–1570 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 25–31 | 34–36 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 4,474 | 5,693 |
| Out-of-state tuition | Not reported | $65,230/year |
| Average net price after aid | Not reported | $18,809 |
| Graduation rate | 92.9% | 93.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | Not reported | $87,555 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 8.0:1 | 6.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Annapolis, MD | Baltimore, MD |
| Largest program areas | Engineering, Social sciences, Physical sciences | Biological sciences, Engineering, Computer science |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (9.3% vs 6.4%). Both report a similar graduation rate (92.9%). Johns Hopkins University is the larger undergraduate campus (5,693 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
United States Naval Academy vs University of Maryland Baltimore
9.3% vs Not reported acceptance rate
United States Naval Academy vs University of Maryland Global Campus
9.3% vs Not reported acceptance rate
United States Naval Academy vs Strayer University-Maryland
9.3% vs Not reported acceptance rate
United States Naval Academy vs Coppin State University
9.3% vs 45.8% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between United States Naval Academy and Johns Hopkins University
United States Naval Academy has an acceptance rate of 9.3%; Johns Hopkins University is around 6.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
United States Naval Academy tuition is Not reported. Johns Hopkins University is $65,230/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool