Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico and Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce are both private nonprofit institutions — Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico in Hato Rey, PR and Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce in Ponce, PR. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Hato Rey, PR · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 3,594
Tuition: $9,870/year
Student-faculty ratio: 18.0:1
Graduation rate: 28.1%
Top programs: Engineering, Computer science, Architecture
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Hato Rey, PR with published program strength in Engineering and Computer science.
Ponce, PR · Private
Acceptance rate: 98.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 3,874
Tuition: $6,650/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 48.6%
Top programs: Biological sciences, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Ponce, PR with published program strength in Biological sciences and Health professions.
| Factor | Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico | Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 98.1% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 1195–1360 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 3,594 | 3,874 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $9,870/year | $6,650/year |
| Average net price after aid | $17,540 | $13,192 |
| Graduation rate | 28.1% | 48.6% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $47,540 | $24,908 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 18.0:1 | 16.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Hato Rey, PR | Ponce, PR |
| Largest program areas | Engineering, Computer science, Architecture | Biological sciences, Health professions, Business and marketing |
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,192 vs $17,540). Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce reports the higher graduation rate (48.6% vs 28.1%). Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is the larger undergraduate campus (3,874 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico vs Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon
Not reported vs 39.6% acceptance rate
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico vs Universidad del Sagrado Corazon
Not reported vs 58.0% acceptance rate
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico vs Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla
Not reported vs 41.8% acceptance rate
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico vs Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina Campus
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico and Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is around 98.1%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico tuition is $9,870/year. Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is $6,650/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool