Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of California-San Diego and University of California-Irvine are both public institutions — University of California-San Diego in La Jolla, CA and University of California-Irvine in Irvine, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
La Jolla, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 26.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 34,948
Tuition: $50,958/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 86.1%
Top programs: Biological sciences, Engineering, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in La Jolla, CA with published program strength in Biological sciences and Engineering.
Irvine, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 28.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 30,197
Tuition: $49,922/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 86.9%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Irvine, CA with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
| Factor | University of California-San Diego | University of California-Irvine |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 26.7% | 28.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 34,948 | 30,197 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $50,958/year | $49,922/year |
| Average net price after aid | $12,470 | $14,251 |
| Graduation rate | 86.1% | 86.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $84,943 | $80,735 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 19.0:1 | 19.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | La Jolla, CA | Irvine, CA |
| Largest program areas | Biological sciences, Engineering, Social sciences | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (26.7% vs 28.6%). University of California-San Diego has a lower average net price after grant aid ($12,470 vs $14,251). Both report a similar graduation rate (86.1%). University of California-San Diego is the larger undergraduate campus (34,948 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of California-San Diego vs California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
26.7% vs 31.3% acceptance rate
University of California-San Diego vs University of California-Santa Barbara
26.7% vs 33.0% acceptance rate
University of California-San Diego vs San Diego State University
26.7% vs 36.2% acceptance rate
University of California-San Diego vs University of California-Davis
26.7% vs 41.8% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of California-San Diego and University of California-Irvine
University of California-San Diego has an acceptance rate of 26.7%; University of California-Irvine is around 28.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of California-San Diego tuition is $50,958/year. University of California-Irvine is $49,922/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool