Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Connecticut and Sacred Heart University are both public institutions — University of Connecticut in Storrs, CT and Sacred Heart University in Fairfield, CT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Storrs, CT · Public
Acceptance rate: 52.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 19,835
Tuition: $43,712/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 83.3%
Top programs: Social sciences, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Storrs, CT with published program strength in Social sciences and Health professions.
Fairfield, CT · Private
Acceptance rate: 65.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,087
Tuition: $50,404/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 73.5%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Fairfield, CT with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | University of Connecticut | Sacred Heart University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 52.4% | 65.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1210–1440 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 28–33 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 19,835 | 7,087 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $43,712/year | $50,404/year |
| Average net price after aid | $25,097 | $46,174 |
| Graduation rate | 83.3% | 73.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $73,997 | $75,059 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 17.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Storrs, CT | Fairfield, CT |
| Largest program areas | Social sciences, Health professions, Business and marketing | Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences |
University of Connecticut is more selective (52.4% vs 65.4% acceptance rate). University of Connecticut has a lower average net price after grant aid ($25,097 vs $46,174). University of Connecticut reports the higher graduation rate (83.3% vs 73.5%). University of Connecticut is the larger undergraduate campus (19,835 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Connecticut vs University of New Haven
52.4% vs 60.4% acceptance rate
University of Connecticut vs Albertus Magnus College
52.4% vs 59.3% acceptance rate
University of Connecticut vs Central Connecticut State University
52.4% vs 73.3% acceptance rate
University of Connecticut vs Post University
52.4% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Connecticut and Sacred Heart University
University of Connecticut has an acceptance rate of 52.4%; Sacred Heart University is around 65.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Connecticut tuition is $43,712/year. Sacred Heart University is $50,404/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool