Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Dubuque and Mount Mercy University are both private nonprofit institutions — University of Dubuque in Dubuque, IA and Mount Mercy University in Cedar Rapids, IA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Dubuque, IA · Private
Acceptance rate: 88.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,440
Tuition: $42,095/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 40.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Dubuque, IA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Cedar Rapids, IA · Private
Acceptance rate: 82.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,107
Tuition: $40,878/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 57.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Cedar Rapids, IA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | University of Dubuque | Mount Mercy University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 88.6% | 82.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 980–1220 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 18–24 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,440 | 1,107 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $42,095/year | $40,878/year |
| Average net price after aid | $23,386 | $20,168 |
| Graduation rate | 40.1% | 57.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $51,190 | $60,787 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 10.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Dubuque, IA | Cedar Rapids, IA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education |
Mount Mercy University is more selective (82.5% vs 88.6% acceptance rate). Mount Mercy University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,168 vs $23,386). Mount Mercy University reports the higher graduation rate (57.7% vs 40.1%). University of Dubuque is the larger undergraduate campus (1,440 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Dubuque vs Simpson College
88.6% vs 86.2% acceptance rate
University of Dubuque vs Central College
88.6% vs 86.2% acceptance rate
University of Dubuque vs Maharishi International University
88.6% vs 95.7% acceptance rate
University of Dubuque vs Northwestern College
88.6% vs 80.4% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Dubuque and Mount Mercy University
University of Dubuque has an acceptance rate of 88.6%; Mount Mercy University is around 82.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Dubuque tuition is $42,095/year. Mount Mercy University is $40,878/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool