Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Minnesota-Duluth and University of Minnesota-Crookston are both public institutions — University of Minnesota-Duluth in Duluth, MN and University of Minnesota-Crookston in Crookston, MN. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Duluth, MN · Public
Acceptance rate: 88.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,336
Tuition: $20,130/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 64.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Engineering, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Duluth, MN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Engineering.
Crookston, MN · Public
Acceptance rate: 87.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,729
Tuition: $13,288/year
Student-faculty ratio: 18.0:1
Graduation rate: 49.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Agriculture, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Crookston, MN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Agriculture.
| Factor | University of Minnesota-Duluth | University of Minnesota-Crookston |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 88.8% | 87.9% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1180–1350 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 23–28 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,336 | 1,729 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $20,130/year | $13,288/year |
| Average net price after aid | $18,743 | $12,212 |
| Graduation rate | 64.7% | 49.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $62,616 | $58,056 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 18.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Duluth, MN | Crookston, MN |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Engineering, Biological sciences | Business and marketing, Agriculture, Health professions |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (88.8% vs 87.9%). University of Minnesota-Crookston has a lower average net price after grant aid ($12,212 vs $18,743). University of Minnesota-Duluth reports the higher graduation rate (64.7% vs 49.8%). University of Minnesota-Duluth is the larger undergraduate campus (7,336 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Minnesota-Duluth vs Minnesota State University-Mankato
88.8% vs 88.4% acceptance rate
University of Minnesota-Duluth vs Saint Cloud State University
88.8% vs 94.8% acceptance rate
University of Minnesota-Duluth vs University of St Thomas
88.8% vs 85.4% acceptance rate
University of Minnesota-Duluth vs Metropolitan State University
88.8% vs 98.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Minnesota-Duluth and University of Minnesota-Crookston
University of Minnesota-Duluth has an acceptance rate of 88.8%; University of Minnesota-Crookston is around 87.9%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Minnesota-Duluth tuition is $20,130/year. University of Minnesota-Crookston is $13,288/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool