Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of North Dakota and University of Mary are both public institutions — University of North Dakota in Grand Forks, ND and University of Mary in Bismarck, ND. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Grand Forks, ND · Public
Acceptance rate: 76.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 9,981
Tuition: $15,570/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 60.5%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Engineering
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Grand Forks, ND with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Bismarck, ND · Private
Acceptance rate: 75.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,416
Tuition: $22,356/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 66.6%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Bismarck, ND with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | University of North Dakota | University of Mary |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 76.9% | 75.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1110–1340 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 23 average | 21–26 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 9,981 | 2,416 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $15,570/year | $22,356/year |
| Average net price after aid | $18,551 | $17,770 |
| Graduation rate | 60.5% | 66.6% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $63,552 | $60,909 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 17.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Grand Forks, ND | Bismarck, ND |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Engineering | Health professions, Business and marketing, Education |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (76.9% vs 75.3%). University of Mary has a lower average net price after grant aid ($17,770 vs $18,551). University of Mary reports the higher graduation rate (66.6% vs 60.5%). University of North Dakota is the larger undergraduate campus (9,981 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of North Dakota vs North Dakota State University-Main Campus
76.9% vs 95.0% acceptance rate
University of North Dakota vs Minot State University
76.9% vs 64.6% acceptance rate
University of North Dakota vs University of Jamestown
76.9% vs 88.1% acceptance rate
University of North Dakota vs Mayville State University
76.9% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of North Dakota and University of Mary
University of North Dakota has an acceptance rate of 76.9%; University of Mary is around 75.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of North Dakota tuition is $15,570/year. University of Mary is $22,356/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool