Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Notre Dame and Boston College are both private nonprofit institutions — University of Notre Dame in Notre Dame, IN and Boston College in Chestnut Hill, MA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Notre Dame, IN · Private
Acceptance rate: 11.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 8,818
Tuition: $65,025/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 95.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Engineering, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Notre Dame, IN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Engineering.
Chestnut Hill, MA · Private
Acceptance rate: 16.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 10,085
Tuition: $70,702/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 90.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Social sciences, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Chestnut Hill, MA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Social sciences.
| Factor | University of Notre Dame | Boston College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 11.3% | 16.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1455–1560 |
| 1440–1540 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 33–35 | 33–35 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 8,818 | 10,085 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $65,025/year | $70,702/year |
| Average net price after aid | $26,780 | $41,704 |
| Graduation rate | 95.2% | 90.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $99,980 | $103,937 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 8.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Notre Dame, IN | Chestnut Hill, MA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Engineering, Social sciences | Business and marketing, Social sciences, Biological sciences |
University of Notre Dame is more selective (11.3% vs 16.4% acceptance rate). University of Notre Dame has a lower average net price after grant aid ($26,780 vs $41,704). University of Notre Dame reports the higher graduation rate (95.2% vs 90.8%). Boston College is the larger undergraduate campus (10,085 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Notre Dame vs Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global
11.3% vs Not reported acceptance rate
University of Notre Dame vs Indiana Institute of Technology-College of Professional Studies
11.3% vs Not reported acceptance rate
University of Notre Dame vs Calumet College of Saint Joseph
11.3% vs Not reported acceptance rate
University of Notre Dame vs American College of Education
11.3% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Notre Dame and Boston College
University of Notre Dame has an acceptance rate of 11.3%; Boston College is around 16.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Notre Dame tuition is $65,025/year. Boston College is $70,702/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool