Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Portland and Linfield University are both private nonprofit institutions — University of Portland in Portland, OR and Linfield University in McMinnville, OR. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Portland, OR · Private
Acceptance rate: 89.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,957
Tuition: $58,100/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 79.8%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Engineering
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Portland, OR with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
McMinnville, OR · Private
Acceptance rate: 85.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,621
Tuition: $50,850/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 70.5%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in McMinnville, OR with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | University of Portland | Linfield University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 89.2% | 85.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1160–1370 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 25–31 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,957 | 1,621 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $58,100/year | $50,850/year |
| Average net price after aid | $28,210 | $26,536 |
| Graduation rate | 79.8% | 70.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $82,804 | $78,638 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 9.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Portland, OR | McMinnville, OR |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Engineering | Health professions, Business and marketing, Education |
Linfield University is more selective (85.2% vs 89.2% acceptance rate). Linfield University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($26,536 vs $28,210). University of Portland reports the higher graduation rate (79.8% vs 70.5%). University of Portland is the larger undergraduate campus (2,957 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Portland vs Pacific University
89.2% vs 89.6% acceptance rate
University of Portland vs George Fox University
89.2% vs 93.5% acceptance rate
University of Portland vs Southern Oregon University
89.2% vs 88.6% acceptance rate
University of Portland vs Oregon Institute of Technology
89.2% vs 95.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Portland and Linfield University
University of Portland has an acceptance rate of 89.2%; Linfield University is around 85.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Portland tuition is $58,100/year. Linfield University is $50,850/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool