Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce and University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras are both public institutions — University of Puerto Rico at Ponce in Ponce, PR and University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras in San Juan, PR. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Ponce, PR · Public
Acceptance rate: 52.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,278
Tuition: $5,354/year
Student-faculty ratio: 22.0:1
Graduation rate: 46.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Ponce, PR with published program strength in Business and marketing and Biological sciences.
San Juan, PR · Public
Acceptance rate: 54.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 8,572
Tuition: $5,354/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 50.3%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in San Juan, PR with published program strength in Business and marketing and Biological sciences.
| Factor | University of Puerto Rico at Ponce | University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 52.4% | 54.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,278 | 8,572 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $5,354/year | $5,354/year |
| Average net price after aid | $10,990 | $9,175 |
| Graduation rate | 46.2% | 50.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $31,394 | $35,723 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 22.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Ponce, PR | San Juan, PR |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology | Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (52.4% vs 54.6%). University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,175 vs $10,990). University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras reports the higher graduation rate (50.3% vs 46.2%). University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is the larger undergraduate campus (8,572 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce vs University of Puerto Rico at Cayey
52.4% vs 53.0% acceptance rate
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce vs University of Puerto Rico-Carolina
52.4% vs 54.5% acceptance rate
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce vs University of Puerto Rico-Humacao
52.4% vs 54.8% acceptance rate
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce vs University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo
52.4% vs 59.2% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Puerto Rico at Ponce and University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce has an acceptance rate of 52.4%; University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is around 54.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce tuition is $5,354/year. University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is $5,354/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool