Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina and University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo are both public institutions — University of Puerto Rico-Carolina in Carolina, PR and University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo in Arecibo, PR. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Carolina, PR · Public
Acceptance rate: 54.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,404
Tuition: $7,986/year
Student-faculty ratio: 20.0:1
Graduation rate: 37.3%
Top programs: Psychology, Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Carolina, PR with published program strength in Psychology and Security and law enforcement.
Arecibo, PR · Public
Acceptance rate: 59.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,669
Tuition: $5,354/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 52.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Biological sciences, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Arecibo, PR with published program strength in Health professions and Biological sciences.
| Factor | University of Puerto Rico-Carolina | University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 54.5% | 59.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 809–1057 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,404 | 2,669 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $7,986/year | $5,354/year |
| Average net price after aid | $12,945 | $10,680 |
| Graduation rate | 37.3% | 52.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $30,626 | $30,512 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 20.0:1 | 19.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Carolina, PR | Arecibo, PR |
| Largest program areas | Psychology, Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing | Health professions, Biological sciences, Business and marketing |
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina is more selective (54.5% vs 59.2% acceptance rate). University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo has a lower average net price after grant aid ($10,680 vs $12,945). University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo reports the higher graduation rate (52.0% vs 37.3%). University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo is the larger undergraduate campus (2,669 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina vs University of Puerto Rico-Humacao
54.5% vs 54.8% acceptance rate
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina vs University of Puerto Rico at Cayey
54.5% vs 53.0% acceptance rate
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina vs University of Puerto Rico at Ponce
54.5% vs 52.4% acceptance rate
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina vs University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
54.5% vs 54.6% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Puerto Rico-Carolina and University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina has an acceptance rate of 54.5%; University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo is around 59.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina tuition is $7,986/year. University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo is $5,354/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool