Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Sioux Falls and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology are both private nonprofit institutions — University of Sioux Falls in Sioux Falls, SD and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City, SD. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Sioux Falls, SD · Private
Acceptance rate: 82.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,218
Tuition: $21,750/year
Student-faculty ratio: 18.0:1
Graduation rate: 62.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Sioux Falls, SD with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Rapid City, SD · Public
Acceptance rate: 79.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,071
Tuition: $14,900/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 52.9%
Top programs: Engineering, Computer science, Physical sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Rapid City, SD with published program strength in Engineering and Computer science.
| Factor | University of Sioux Falls | South Dakota School of Mines and Technology |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 82.9% | 79.9% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1140–1340 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 24–30 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,218 | 2,071 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $21,750/year | $14,900/year |
| Average net price after aid | $21,383 | $20,183 |
| Graduation rate | 62.9% | 52.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $54,521 | $72,257 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 18.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Public |
| Location | Sioux Falls, SD | Rapid City, SD |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Psychology | Engineering, Computer science, Physical sciences |
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is more selective (79.9% vs 82.9% acceptance rate). South Dakota School of Mines and Technology has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,183 vs $21,383). University of Sioux Falls reports the higher graduation rate (62.9% vs 52.9%). South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is the larger undergraduate campus (2,071 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Sioux Falls vs Dakota Wesleyan University
82.9% vs 73.4% acceptance rate
University of Sioux Falls vs Dakota State University
82.9% vs 88.0% acceptance rate
University of Sioux Falls vs Kairos University
82.9% vs 84.6% acceptance rate
University of Sioux Falls vs Northern State University
82.9% vs 93.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Sioux Falls and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
University of Sioux Falls has an acceptance rate of 82.9%; South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is around 79.9%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Sioux Falls tuition is $21,750/year. South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is $14,900/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool