Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of South Carolina-Upstate and University of South Carolina Beaufort are both public institutions — University of South Carolina-Upstate in Spartanburg, SC and University of South Carolina Beaufort in Bluffton, SC. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Spartanburg, SC · Public
Acceptance rate: 67.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,038
Tuition: $23,090/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 43.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Spartanburg, SC with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Bluffton, SC · Public
Acceptance rate: 72.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,052
Tuition: $21,776/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 34.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Bluffton, SC with published program strength in Health professions and Psychology.
| Factor | University of South Carolina-Upstate | University of South Carolina Beaufort |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 67.3% | 72.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1005–1175 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 21–26 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 4,038 | 2,052 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $23,090/year | $21,776/year |
| Average net price after aid | $13,557 | $14,656 |
| Graduation rate | 43.0% | 34.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $48,587 | $48,088 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Spartanburg, SC | Bluffton, SC |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences | Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing |
University of South Carolina-Upstate is more selective (67.3% vs 72.5% acceptance rate). University of South Carolina-Upstate has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,557 vs $14,656). University of South Carolina-Upstate reports the higher graduation rate (43.0% vs 34.0%). University of South Carolina-Upstate is the larger undergraduate campus (4,038 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of South Carolina-Upstate vs North Greenville University
67.3% vs 66.7% acceptance rate
University of South Carolina-Upstate vs Converse University
67.3% vs 67.7% acceptance rate
University of South Carolina-Upstate vs Claflin University
67.3% vs 64.9% acceptance rate
University of South Carolina-Upstate vs College of Charleston
67.3% vs 60.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of South Carolina-Upstate and University of South Carolina Beaufort
University of South Carolina-Upstate has an acceptance rate of 67.3%; University of South Carolina Beaufort is around 72.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of South Carolina-Upstate tuition is $23,090/year. University of South Carolina Beaufort is $21,776/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool