Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of the People and Chapman University are both private nonprofit institutions — University of the People in Pasadena, CA and Chapman University in Orange, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Pasadena, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 22,688
Tuition: $1,400/year
Student-faculty ratio: 28.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Pasadena, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
Orange, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 65.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,478
Tuition: $64,984/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 81.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Visual and performing arts, Communication
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Orange, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Visual and performing arts.
| Factor | University of the People | Chapman University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 65.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1260–1440 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 28–31 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 22,688 | 7,478 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $1,400/year | $64,984/year |
| Average net price after aid | Not reported | $46,555 |
| Graduation rate | 33.5% | 81.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | Not reported | $70,070 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 28.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Pasadena, CA | Orange, CA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Computer science, Health professions | Business and marketing, Visual and performing arts, Communication |
Chapman University reports the higher graduation rate (81.9% vs 33.5%). University of the People is the larger undergraduate campus (22,688 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of the People vs University of Southern California
Not reported vs 9.8% acceptance rate
University of the People vs National University
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
University of the People vs California Baptist University
Not reported vs 84.9% acceptance rate
University of the People vs Stanford University
Not reported vs 3.6% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of the People and Chapman University
University of the People has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Chapman University is around 65.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of the People tuition is $1,400/year. Chapman University is $64,984/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool