Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of the Southwest and New Mexico Highlands University are both private nonprofit institutions — University of the Southwest in Hobbs, NM and New Mexico Highlands University in Las Vegas, NM. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Hobbs, NM · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 346
Tuition: $16,670/year
Student-faculty ratio: 21.0:1
Graduation rate: 17.0%
Top programs: Education, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Hobbs, NM with published program strength in Education and Business and marketing.
Las Vegas, NM · Public
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 1,451
Tuition: $12,336/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 26.2%
Top programs: Health professions, Education, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Las Vegas, NM with published program strength in Health professions and Education.
| Factor | University of the Southwest | New Mexico Highlands University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 346 | 1,451 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $16,670/year | $12,336/year |
| Average net price after aid | $16,927 | $14,838 |
| Graduation rate | 17.0% | 26.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $45,389 | $45,937 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 21.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Public |
| Location | Hobbs, NM | Las Vegas, NM |
| Largest program areas | Education, Business and marketing, Biological sciences | Health professions, Education, Business and marketing |
New Mexico Highlands University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($14,838 vs $16,927). New Mexico Highlands University reports the higher graduation rate (26.2% vs 17.0%). New Mexico Highlands University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,451 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of the Southwest vs St. John's College
Not reported vs 53.1% acceptance rate
University of the Southwest vs Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development
Not reported vs 97.5% acceptance rate
University of the Southwest vs Brookline College-Albuquerque
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
University of the Southwest vs New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Not reported vs 44.5% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of the Southwest and New Mexico Highlands University
University of the Southwest has an acceptance rate of Not reported; New Mexico Highlands University is around Not reported. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of the Southwest tuition is $16,670/year. New Mexico Highlands University is $12,336/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool