Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of West Alabama and Oakwood University are both public institutions — University of West Alabama in Livingston, AL and Oakwood University in Huntsville, AL. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Livingston, AL · Public
Acceptance rate: 42.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,974
Tuition: $20,090/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 34.7%
Top programs: Education, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Livingston, AL with published program strength in Education and Health professions.
Huntsville, AL · Private
Acceptance rate: 45.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,153
Tuition: $22,512/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 44.6%
Top programs: Biological sciences, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Huntsville, AL with published program strength in Biological sciences and Health professions.
| Factor | University of West Alabama | Oakwood University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 42.6% | 45.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 860–1120 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 16–21 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,974 | 1,153 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $20,090/year | $22,512/year |
| Average net price after aid | $12,684 | $25,669 |
| Graduation rate | 34.7% | 44.6% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $44,232 | $42,488 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 19.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Livingston, AL | Huntsville, AL |
| Largest program areas | Education, Health professions, Business and marketing | Biological sciences, Health professions, Business and marketing |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (42.6% vs 45.2%). University of West Alabama has a lower average net price after grant aid ($12,684 vs $25,669). Oakwood University reports the higher graduation rate (44.6% vs 34.7%). University of West Alabama is the larger undergraduate campus (2,974 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of West Alabama vs Tuskegee University
42.6% vs 48.7% acceptance rate
University of West Alabama vs University of Montevallo
42.6% vs 53.8% acceptance rate
University of West Alabama vs Auburn University
42.6% vs 45.9% acceptance rate
University of West Alabama vs Alabama A & M University
42.6% vs 58.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of West Alabama and Oakwood University
University of West Alabama has an acceptance rate of 42.6%; Oakwood University is around 45.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of West Alabama tuition is $20,090/year. Oakwood University is $22,512/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool