Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Virginia Military Institute and Shenandoah University are both public institutions — Virginia Military Institute in Lexington, VA and Shenandoah University in Winchester, VA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Lexington, VA · Public
Acceptance rate: 71.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,527
Tuition: $52,638/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 76.2%
Top programs: Social sciences, Engineering, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Lexington, VA with published program strength in Social sciences and Engineering.
Winchester, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 77.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,116
Tuition: $36,950/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 66.8%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Winchester, VA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Health professions.
| Factor | Virginia Military Institute | Shenandoah University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 71.3% | 77.0% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1050–1270 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 24–31 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,527 | 2,116 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $52,638/year | $36,950/year |
| Average net price after aid | $17,113 | $30,298 |
| Graduation rate | 76.2% | 66.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $77,369 | $58,433 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 9.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Lexington, VA | Winchester, VA |
| Largest program areas | Social sciences, Engineering, Psychology | Visual and performing arts, Health professions, Business and marketing |
Virginia Military Institute is more selective (71.3% vs 77.0% acceptance rate). Virginia Military Institute has a lower average net price after grant aid ($17,113 vs $30,298). Virginia Military Institute reports the higher graduation rate (76.2% vs 66.8%). Shenandoah University is the larger undergraduate campus (2,116 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Virginia Military Institute vs Virginia Wesleyan University
71.3% vs 72.9% acceptance rate
Virginia Military Institute vs James Madison University
71.3% vs 71.5% acceptance rate
Virginia Military Institute vs Hollins University
71.3% vs 68.0% acceptance rate
Virginia Military Institute vs University of Mary Washington
71.3% vs 79.8% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Virginia Military Institute and Shenandoah University
Virginia Military Institute has an acceptance rate of 71.3%; Shenandoah University is around 77.0%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Virginia Military Institute tuition is $52,638/year. Shenandoah University is $36,950/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool