Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Walden University and Capella University are both private for-profit institutions — Walden University in Minneapolis, MN and Capella University in Minneapolis, MN. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Minneapolis, MN · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 9,136
Tuition: $12,762/year
Student-faculty ratio: 31.0:1
Graduation rate: Not reported
Top programs: Health professions, Education, Public administration and social service
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Minneapolis, MN with published program strength in Health professions and Education.
Minneapolis, MN · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 18,364
Tuition: $14,400/year
Student-faculty ratio: 41.0:1
Graduation rate: 20.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Minneapolis, MN with published program strength in Health professions and Psychology.
| Factor | Walden University | Capella University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 9,136 | 18,364 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $12,762/year | $14,400/year |
| Average net price after aid | $33,817 | $17,956 |
| Graduation rate | Not reported | 20.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $42,810 | $42,189 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 31.0:1 | 41.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private for-profit | Private for-profit |
| Location | Minneapolis, MN | Minneapolis, MN |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Education, Public administration and social service | Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing |
Capella University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($17,956 vs $33,817). Capella University is the larger undergraduate campus (18,364 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Walden University vs University of Minnesota-Duluth
Not reported vs 88.8% acceptance rate
Walden University vs Minnesota State University-Mankato
Not reported vs 88.4% acceptance rate
Walden University vs University of St Thomas
Not reported vs 85.4% acceptance rate
Walden University vs Metropolitan State University
Not reported vs 98.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Walden University and Capella University
Walden University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Capella University is around Not reported. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Walden University tuition is $12,762/year. Capella University is $14,400/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool