Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
West Virginia University Institute of Technology and University of Charleston are both public institutions — West Virginia University Institute of Technology in Beckley, WV and University of Charleston in Charleston, WV. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Beckley, WV · Public
Acceptance rate: 36.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 981
Tuition: $21,072/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.0%
Top programs: Engineering, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Beckley, WV with published program strength in Engineering and Business and marketing.
Charleston, WV · Private
Acceptance rate: 61.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,259
Tuition: $33,800/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 45.6%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Charleston, WV with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | West Virginia University Institute of Technology | University of Charleston |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 36.7% | 61.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) | 880–1120 | Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 19–23 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 981 | 2,259 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $21,072/year | $33,800/year |
| Average net price after aid | $9,337 | $22,107 |
| Graduation rate | 33.0% | 45.6% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $55,939 | $55,774 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 13.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Beckley, WV | Charleston, WV |
| Largest program areas | Engineering, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement | Business and marketing, Health professions, Security and law enforcement |
West Virginia University Institute of Technology is more selective (36.7% vs 61.5% acceptance rate). West Virginia University Institute of Technology has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,337 vs $22,107). University of Charleston reports the higher graduation rate (45.6% vs 33.0%). University of Charleston is the larger undergraduate campus (2,259 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
West Virginia University Institute of Technology vs Glenville State University
36.7% vs Not reported acceptance rate
West Virginia University Institute of Technology vs Salem University
36.7% vs Not reported acceptance rate
West Virginia University Institute of Technology vs Bethany College
36.7% vs 58.8% acceptance rate
West Virginia University Institute of Technology vs Strayer University-West Virginia
36.7% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between West Virginia University Institute of Technology and University of Charleston
West Virginia University Institute of Technology has an acceptance rate of 36.7%; University of Charleston is around 61.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
West Virginia University Institute of Technology tuition is $21,072/year. University of Charleston is $33,800/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool