Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Western Governors University and Utah State University are both private nonprofit institutions — Western Governors University in Salt Lake City, UT and Utah State University in Logan, UT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Salt Lake City, UT · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 155,088
Tuition: $8,658/year
Student-faculty ratio: 42.0:1
Graduation rate: 46.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Salt Lake City, UT with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Logan, UT · Public
Acceptance rate: 92.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 20,272
Tuition: $24,802/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 59.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Logan, UT with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | Western Governors University | Utah State University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 92.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1070–1290 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 20–28 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 155,088 | 20,272 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $8,658/year | $24,802/year |
| Average net price after aid | $12,548 | $14,936 |
| Graduation rate | 46.2% | 59.1% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $60,615 | $54,022 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 42.0:1 | 19.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Public |
| Location | Salt Lake City, UT | Logan, UT |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Computer science | Business and marketing, Health professions, Social sciences |
Western Governors University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($12,548 vs $14,936). Utah State University reports the higher graduation rate (59.1% vs 46.2%). Western Governors University is the larger undergraduate campus (155,088 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Western Governors University vs Brigham Young University
Not reported vs 67.8% acceptance rate
Western Governors University vs University of Utah
Not reported vs 86.0% acceptance rate
Western Governors University vs Southern Utah University
Not reported vs 81.8% acceptance rate
Western Governors University vs Nightingale College
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Western Governors University and Utah State University
Western Governors University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Utah State University is around 92.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Western Governors University tuition is $8,658/year. Utah State University is $24,802/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool