Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Westmont College and Mount Saint Mary's University are both private nonprofit institutions — Westmont College in Santa Barbara, CA and Mount Saint Mary's University in Los Angeles, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Santa Barbara, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 77.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,302
Tuition: $53,584/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 70.3%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Santa Barbara, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Los Angeles, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 73.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,719
Tuition: $49,564/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 53.3%
Top programs: Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Los Angeles, CA with published program strength in Health professions and Psychology.
| Factor | Westmont College | Mount Saint Mary's University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 77.0% | 73.1% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1240–1450 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 25–32 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,302 | 1,719 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $53,584/year | $49,564/year |
| Average net price after aid | $29,053 | $21,413 |
| Graduation rate | 70.3% | 53.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $64,778 | $72,379 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 10.0:1 | 8.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Santa Barbara, CA | Los Angeles, CA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Psychology | Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing |
Mount Saint Mary's University is more selective (73.1% vs 77.0% acceptance rate). Mount Saint Mary's University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($21,413 vs $29,053). Westmont College reports the higher graduation rate (70.3% vs 53.3%). Mount Saint Mary's University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,719 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Westmont College vs California Lutheran University
77.0% vs 75.7% acceptance rate
Westmont College vs Art Center College of Design
77.0% vs 74.5% acceptance rate
Westmont College vs Otis College of Art and Design
77.0% vs 81.8% acceptance rate
Westmont College vs Whittier College
77.0% vs 80.8% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Westmont College and Mount Saint Mary's University
Westmont College has an acceptance rate of 77.0%; Mount Saint Mary's University is around 73.1%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Westmont College tuition is $53,584/year. Mount Saint Mary's University is $49,564/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool