Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Columbia Southern University and University of Alabama at Birmingham are both private for-profit institutions — Columbia Southern University in Orange Beach, AL and University of Alabama at Birmingham in Birmingham, AL. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Orange Beach, AL · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 12,176
Tuition: $6,760/year
Student-faculty ratio: 37.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.3%
Top programs: Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Orange Beach, AL with published program strength in Security and law enforcement and Business and marketing.
Birmingham, AL · Public
Acceptance rate: 88.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 11,635
Tuition: $22,562/year
Student-faculty ratio: 18.0:1
Graduation rate: 64.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Birmingham, AL with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | Columbia Southern University | University of Alabama at Birmingham |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 88.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 1210–1450 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 23–30 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 12,176 | 11,635 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $6,760/year | $22,562/year |
| Average net price after aid | $14,580 | $18,749 |
| Graduation rate | 33.3% | 64.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $63,534 | $54,501 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 37.0:1 | 18.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private for-profit | Public |
| Location | Orange Beach, AL | Birmingham, AL |
| Largest program areas | Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing, Health professions | Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences |
Columbia Southern University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($14,580 vs $18,749). University of Alabama at Birmingham reports the higher graduation rate (64.2% vs 33.3%). Columbia Southern University is the larger undergraduate campus (12,176 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Columbia Southern University vs Troy University
Not reported vs 96.0% acceptance rate
Columbia Southern University vs University of South Alabama
Not reported vs 71.0% acceptance rate
Columbia Southern University vs Jacksonville State University
Not reported vs 77.7% acceptance rate
Columbia Southern University vs University of Alabama in Huntsville
Not reported vs 68.6% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Columbia Southern University and University of Alabama at Birmingham
Columbia Southern University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; University of Alabama at Birmingham is around 88.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Columbia Southern University tuition is $6,760/year. University of Alabama at Birmingham is $22,562/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool