Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Columbia Southern University and University of South Alabama are both private for-profit institutions — Columbia Southern University in Orange Beach, AL and University of South Alabama in Mobile, AL. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Orange Beach, AL · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 12,176
Tuition: $6,760/year
Student-faculty ratio: 37.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.3%
Top programs: Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Orange Beach, AL with published program strength in Security and law enforcement and Business and marketing.
Mobile, AL · Public
Acceptance rate: 71.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 8,879
Tuition: $19,092/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 52.7%
Top programs: Health professions, Biological sciences, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Mobile, AL with published program strength in Health professions and Biological sciences.
| Factor | Columbia Southern University | University of South Alabama |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 71.0% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 970–1190 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 20–26 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 12,176 | 8,879 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $6,760/year | $19,092/year |
| Average net price after aid | $14,580 | $17,648 |
| Graduation rate | 33.3% | 52.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $63,534 | $49,379 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 37.0:1 | 19.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private for-profit | Public |
| Location | Orange Beach, AL | Mobile, AL |
| Largest program areas | Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing, Health professions | Health professions, Biological sciences, Business and marketing |
Columbia Southern University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($14,580 vs $17,648). University of South Alabama reports the higher graduation rate (52.7% vs 33.3%). Columbia Southern University is the larger undergraduate campus (12,176 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Columbia Southern University vs University of Alabama at Birmingham
Not reported vs 88.2% acceptance rate
Columbia Southern University vs Troy University
Not reported vs 96.0% acceptance rate
Columbia Southern University vs Jacksonville State University
Not reported vs 77.7% acceptance rate
Columbia Southern University vs University of Alabama in Huntsville
Not reported vs 68.6% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Columbia Southern University and University of South Alabama
Columbia Southern University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; University of South Alabama is around 71.0%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Columbia Southern University tuition is $6,760/year. University of South Alabama is $19,092/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool