Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Dartmouth College and Massachusetts Institute of Technology are both private nonprofit institutions — Dartmouth College in Hanover, NH and Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, MA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Hanover, NH · Private
Acceptance rate: 5.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,541
Tuition: $68,268/year
Student-faculty ratio: 7.0:1
Graduation rate: 95.5%
Top programs: Social sciences, Engineering, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Hanover, NH with published program strength in Social sciences and Engineering.
Cambridge, MA · Private
Acceptance rate: 4.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,535
Tuition: $62,396/year
Student-faculty ratio: 3.0:1
Graduation rate: 96.4%
Top programs: Computer science, Engineering, Mathematics
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Cambridge, MA with published program strength in Computer science and Engineering.
| Factor | Dartmouth College | Massachusetts Institute of Technology |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 5.4% | 4.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1500–1570 |
| 1520–1580 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 33–35 | 34–36 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 4,541 | 4,535 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $68,268/year | $62,396/year |
| Average net price after aid | $29,519 | $20,111 |
| Graduation rate | 95.5% | 96.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $97,434 | $143,372 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 7.0:1 | 3.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Hanover, NH | Cambridge, MA |
| Largest program areas | Social sciences, Engineering, Computer science | Computer science, Engineering, Mathematics |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (5.4% vs 4.5%). Massachusetts Institute of Technology has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,111 vs $29,519). Both report a similar graduation rate (95.5%). Dartmouth College is the larger undergraduate campus (4,541 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Dartmouth College vs University of New Hampshire College of Professional Studies Online
5.4% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Dartmouth College vs Thomas More College of Liberal Arts
5.4% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Dartmouth College vs Princeton University
5.4% vs 4.6% acceptance rate
Dartmouth College vs Duke University
5.4% vs 5.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Dartmouth College and Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dartmouth College has an acceptance rate of 5.4%; Massachusetts Institute of Technology is around 4.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Dartmouth College tuition is $68,268/year. Massachusetts Institute of Technology is $62,396/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool