Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Eastern Oregon University and Southern Oregon University are both public institutions — Eastern Oregon University in La Grande, OR and Southern Oregon University in Ashland, OR. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
La Grande, OR · Public
Acceptance rate: 98.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,172
Tuition: $25,431/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 43.0%
Top programs: Education, Business and marketing, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a public campus in La Grande, OR with published program strength in Education and Business and marketing.
Ashland, OR · Public
Acceptance rate: 88.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,751
Tuition: $31,887/year
Student-faculty ratio: 23.0:1
Graduation rate: 42.5%
Top programs: Psychology, Business and marketing, Communication
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Ashland, OR with published program strength in Psychology and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Eastern Oregon University | Southern Oregon University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 98.3% | 88.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 22 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,172 | 2,751 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $25,431/year | $31,887/year |
| Average net price after aid | $17,148 | $16,732 |
| Graduation rate | 43.0% | 42.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $50,112 | $49,175 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 23.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | La Grande, OR | Ashland, OR |
| Largest program areas | Education, Business and marketing, Computer science | Psychology, Business and marketing, Communication |
Southern Oregon University is more selective (88.6% vs 98.3% acceptance rate). Southern Oregon University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($16,732 vs $17,148). Both report a similar graduation rate (43.0%). Southern Oregon University is the larger undergraduate campus (2,751 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Eastern Oregon University vs Western Oregon University
98.3% vs 98.1% acceptance rate
Eastern Oregon University vs Oregon Institute of Technology
98.3% vs 95.0% acceptance rate
Eastern Oregon University vs George Fox University
98.3% vs 93.5% acceptance rate
Eastern Oregon University vs Corban University
98.3% vs 93.9% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Eastern Oregon University and Southern Oregon University
Eastern Oregon University has an acceptance rate of 98.3%; Southern Oregon University is around 88.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Eastern Oregon University tuition is $25,431/year. Southern Oregon University is $31,887/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool