Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Massachusetts College of Art and Design and Springfield College are both public institutions — Massachusetts College of Art and Design in Boston, MA and Springfield College in Springfield, MA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Boston, MA · Public
Acceptance rate: 76.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,831
Tuition: $43,400/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 68.9%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Communication, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Boston, MA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Communication.
Springfield, MA · Private
Acceptance rate: 71.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,751
Tuition: $45,174/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 74.2%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Springfield, MA with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Massachusetts College of Art and Design | Springfield College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 76.3% | 71.9% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1080–1330 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 27–29 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,831 | 1,751 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $43,400/year | $45,174/year |
| Average net price after aid | $24,100 | $30,587 |
| Graduation rate | 68.9% | 74.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $43,582 | $48,036 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 9.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Boston, MA | Springfield, MA |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts, Communication, Education | Health professions, Business and marketing, Education |
Springfield College is more selective (71.9% vs 76.3% acceptance rate). Massachusetts College of Art and Design has a lower average net price after grant aid ($24,100 vs $30,587). Springfield College reports the higher graduation rate (74.2% vs 68.9%). Massachusetts College of Art and Design is the larger undergraduate campus (1,831 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Emmanuel College
76.3% vs 75.6% acceptance rate
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Westfield State University
76.3% vs 81.4% acceptance rate
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Framingham State University
76.3% vs 83.6% acceptance rate
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Hampshire College
76.3% vs 75.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Massachusetts College of Art and Design and Springfield College
Massachusetts College of Art and Design has an acceptance rate of 76.3%; Springfield College is around 71.9%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Massachusetts College of Art and Design tuition is $43,400/year. Springfield College is $45,174/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool