Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Massachusetts College of Art and Design and Westfield State University are both public institutions — Massachusetts College of Art and Design in Boston, MA and Westfield State University in Westfield, MA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Boston, MA · Public
Acceptance rate: 76.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,831
Tuition: $43,400/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 68.9%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Communication, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Boston, MA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Communication.
Westfield, MA · Public
Acceptance rate: 81.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 3,615
Tuition: $18,259/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 54.4%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Westfield, MA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Security and law enforcement.
| Factor | Massachusetts College of Art and Design | Westfield State University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 76.3% | 81.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 20 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,831 | 3,615 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $43,400/year | $18,259/year |
| Average net price after aid | $24,100 | $16,721 |
| Graduation rate | 68.9% | 54.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $43,582 | $57,346 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 9.0:1 | 17.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Boston, MA | Westfield, MA |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts, Communication, Education | Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Health professions |
Massachusetts College of Art and Design is more selective (76.3% vs 81.4% acceptance rate). Westfield State University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($16,721 vs $24,100). Massachusetts College of Art and Design reports the higher graduation rate (68.9% vs 54.4%). Westfield State University is the larger undergraduate campus (3,615 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Emmanuel College
76.3% vs 75.6% acceptance rate
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Framingham State University
76.3% vs 83.6% acceptance rate
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Hampshire College
76.3% vs 75.3% acceptance rate
Massachusetts College of Art and Design vs Springfield College
76.3% vs 71.9% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Massachusetts College of Art and Design and Westfield State University
Massachusetts College of Art and Design has an acceptance rate of 76.3%; Westfield State University is around 81.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Massachusetts College of Art and Design tuition is $43,400/year. Westfield State University is $18,259/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool