Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Northeastern University Oakland and Harvey Mudd College are both private nonprofit institutions — Northeastern University Oakland in Oakland, CA and Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Oakland, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 16.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 464
Tuition: $67,778/year
Student-faculty ratio: 7.0:1
Graduation rate: Not reported
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Social sciences, Public administration and social service
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Oakland, CA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Social sciences.
Claremont, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 12.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 921
Tuition: $68,613/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 91.9%
Top programs: Engineering, Computer science, Physical sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Claremont, CA with published program strength in Engineering and Computer science.
| Factor | Northeastern University Oakland | Harvey Mudd College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 16.7% | 12.7% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1420–1520 |
| 1500–1570 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 32–33 | 34–36 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 464 | 921 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $67,778/year | $68,613/year |
| Average net price after aid | $25,181 | $35,924 |
| Graduation rate | Not reported | 91.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $92,538 | $138,687 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 7.0:1 | 8.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Oakland, CA | Claremont, CA |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts, Social sciences, Public administration and social service | Engineering, Computer science, Physical sciences |
Harvey Mudd College is more selective (12.7% vs 16.7% acceptance rate). Northeastern University Oakland has a lower average net price after grant aid ($25,181 vs $35,924). Harvey Mudd College is the larger undergraduate campus (921 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Northeastern University Oakland vs Claremont McKenna College
16.7% vs 9.6% acceptance rate
Northeastern University Oakland vs California Miramar University
16.7% vs 18.5% acceptance rate
Northeastern University Oakland vs Pitzer College
16.7% vs 25.2% acceptance rate
Northeastern University Oakland vs Minerva University
16.7% vs 3.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Northeastern University Oakland and Harvey Mudd College
Northeastern University Oakland has an acceptance rate of 16.7%; Harvey Mudd College is around 12.7%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Northeastern University Oakland tuition is $67,778/year. Harvey Mudd College is $68,613/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool