Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Northeastern University Oakland and Pitzer College are both private nonprofit institutions — Northeastern University Oakland in Oakland, CA and Pitzer College in Claremont, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Oakland, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 16.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 464
Tuition: $67,778/year
Student-faculty ratio: 7.0:1
Graduation rate: Not reported
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Social sciences, Public administration and social service
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Oakland, CA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Social sciences.
Claremont, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 25.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,227
Tuition: $65,192/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 83.4%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Claremont, CA with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
| Factor | Northeastern University Oakland | Pitzer College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 16.7% | 25.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1420–1520 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 32–33 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 464 | 1,227 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $67,778/year | $65,192/year |
| Average net price after aid | $25,181 | $34,191 |
| Graduation rate | Not reported | 83.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $92,538 | $69,512 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 7.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Oakland, CA | Claremont, CA |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts, Social sciences, Public administration and social service | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology |
Northeastern University Oakland is more selective (16.7% vs 25.2% acceptance rate). Northeastern University Oakland has a lower average net price after grant aid ($25,181 vs $34,191). Pitzer College is the larger undergraduate campus (1,227 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Northeastern University Oakland vs Harvey Mudd College
16.7% vs 12.7% acceptance rate
Northeastern University Oakland vs Claremont McKenna College
16.7% vs 9.6% acceptance rate
Northeastern University Oakland vs California Miramar University
16.7% vs 18.5% acceptance rate
Northeastern University Oakland vs Minerva University
16.7% vs 3.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Northeastern University Oakland and Pitzer College
Northeastern University Oakland has an acceptance rate of 16.7%; Pitzer College is around 25.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Northeastern University Oakland tuition is $67,778/year. Pitzer College is $65,192/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool