Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Soka University of America and Occidental College are both private nonprofit institutions — Soka University of America in Aliso Viejo, CA and Occidental College in Los Angeles, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Aliso Viejo, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 43.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 484
Tuition: $38,728/year
Student-faculty ratio: 7.0:1
Graduation rate: 91.8%
Top programs: Program mix not reported
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Aliso Viejo, CA with published program strength in Program mix not reported.
Los Angeles, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 44.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,877
Tuition: $66,274/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 80.9%
Top programs: Social sciences, Visual and performing arts, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Los Angeles, CA with published program strength in Social sciences and Visual and performing arts.
| Factor | Soka University of America | Occidental College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 43.4% | 44.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1333–1510 |
| 1380–1520 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 26 average | 31–34 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 484 | 1,877 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $38,728/year | $66,274/year |
| Average net price after aid | $18,260 | $38,263 |
| Graduation rate | 91.8% | 80.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $55,017 | $75,951 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 7.0:1 | 9.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Aliso Viejo, CA | Los Angeles, CA |
| Largest program areas | Program mix not reported | Social sciences, Visual and performing arts, Biological sciences |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (43.4% vs 44.2%). Soka University of America has a lower average net price after grant aid ($18,260 vs $38,263). Soka University of America reports the higher graduation rate (91.8% vs 80.9%). Occidental College is the larger undergraduate campus (1,877 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Soka University of America vs The Chicago School at Los Angeles
43.4% vs 46.3% acceptance rate
Soka University of America vs SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary
43.4% vs 40.7% acceptance rate
Soka University of America vs Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science
43.4% vs 38.7% acceptance rate
Soka University of America vs Scripps College
43.4% vs 38.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Soka University of America and Occidental College
Soka University of America has an acceptance rate of 43.4%; Occidental College is around 44.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Soka University of America tuition is $38,728/year. Occidental College is $66,274/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool