Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
St. John's College and Washington College are both private nonprofit institutions — St. John's College in Annapolis, MD and Washington College in Chestertown, MD. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Annapolis, MD · Private
Acceptance rate: 55.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 471
Tuition: $40,684/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 71.4%
Top programs: Program mix not reported
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Annapolis, MD with published program strength in Program mix not reported.
Chestertown, MD · Private
Acceptance rate: 56.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 891
Tuition: $55,326/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 65.4%
Top programs: Social sciences, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Chestertown, MD with published program strength in Social sciences and Business and marketing.
| Factor | St. John's College | Washington College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 55.2% | 56.9% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) | 1270–1440 |
| 1140–1390 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 27–32 | 27–31 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 471 | 891 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $40,684/year | $55,326/year |
| Average net price after aid | $45,597 | $27,898 |
| Graduation rate | 71.4% | 65.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $51,584 | $65,518 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 8.0:1 | 8.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Annapolis, MD | Chestertown, MD |
| Largest program areas | Program mix not reported | Social sciences, Business and marketing, Biological sciences |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (55.2% vs 56.9%). Washington College has a lower average net price after grant aid ($27,898 vs $45,597). St. John's College reports the higher graduation rate (71.4% vs 65.4%). Washington College is the larger undergraduate campus (891 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
St. John's College vs New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
53.1% vs 44.5% acceptance rate
St. John's College vs University of the Southwest
53.1% vs Not reported acceptance rate
St. John's College vs Brookline College-Albuquerque
53.1% vs Not reported acceptance rate
St. John's College vs New Mexico Highlands University
53.1% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between St. John's College and Washington College
St. John's College has an acceptance rate of 55.2%; Washington College is around 56.9%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
St. John's College tuition is $40,684/year. Washington College is $55,326/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool