Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
State University of New York at Cortland and CUNY Brooklyn College are both public institutions — State University of New York at Cortland in Cortland, NY and CUNY Brooklyn College in Brooklyn, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Cortland, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 59.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,901
Tuition: $18,784/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 68.0%
Top programs: Education, Business and marketing, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Cortland, NY with published program strength in Education and Business and marketing.
Brooklyn, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 58.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 10,543
Tuition: $15,402/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 53.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Brooklyn, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
| Factor | State University of New York at Cortland | CUNY Brooklyn College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 59.8% | 58.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 950–1340 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 25 average | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 5,901 | 10,543 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $18,784/year | $15,402/year |
| Average net price after aid | $22,345 | $3,103 |
| Graduation rate | 68.0% | 53.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $60,236 | $60,752 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Cortland, NY | Brooklyn, NY |
| Largest program areas | Education, Business and marketing, Psychology | Business and marketing, Psychology, Computer science |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (59.8% vs 58.4%). CUNY Brooklyn College has a lower average net price after grant aid ($3,103 vs $22,345). State University of New York at Cortland reports the higher graduation rate (68.0% vs 53.9%). CUNY Brooklyn College is the larger undergraduate campus (10,543 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
State University of New York at Cortland vs State University of New York at New Paltz
59.8% vs 61.6% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Cortland vs CUNY City College
59.8% vs 60.0% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Cortland vs Farmingdale State College
59.8% vs 63.3% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Cortland vs CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
59.8% vs 57.1% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between State University of New York at Cortland and CUNY Brooklyn College
State University of New York at Cortland has an acceptance rate of 59.8%; CUNY Brooklyn College is around 58.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
State University of New York at Cortland tuition is $18,784/year. CUNY Brooklyn College is $15,402/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool