Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
State University of New York at Cortland and CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice are both public institutions — State University of New York at Cortland in Cortland, NY and CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Cortland, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 59.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,901
Tuition: $18,784/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 68.0%
Top programs: Education, Business and marketing, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Cortland, NY with published program strength in Education and Business and marketing.
New York, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 57.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 11,590
Tuition: $15,420/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 55.8%
Top programs: Security and law enforcement, Psychology, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in New York, NY with published program strength in Security and law enforcement and Psychology.
| Factor | State University of New York at Cortland | CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 59.8% | 57.1% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 930–1220 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 25 average | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 5,901 | 11,590 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $18,784/year | $15,420/year |
| Average net price after aid | $22,345 | $3,203 |
| Graduation rate | 68.0% | 55.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $60,236 | $56,195 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 16.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Cortland, NY | New York, NY |
| Largest program areas | Education, Business and marketing, Psychology | Security and law enforcement, Psychology, Social sciences |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (59.8% vs 57.1%). CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice has a lower average net price after grant aid ($3,203 vs $22,345). State University of New York at Cortland reports the higher graduation rate (68.0% vs 55.8%). CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is the larger undergraduate campus (11,590 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
State University of New York at Cortland vs State University of New York at New Paltz
59.8% vs 61.6% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Cortland vs CUNY City College
59.8% vs 60.0% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Cortland vs CUNY Brooklyn College
59.8% vs 58.4% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Cortland vs Farmingdale State College
59.8% vs 63.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between State University of New York at Cortland and CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
State University of New York at Cortland has an acceptance rate of 59.8%; CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is around 57.1%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
State University of New York at Cortland tuition is $18,784/year. CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice is $15,420/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool