Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Maine and University of Maine at Presque Isle are both public institutions — University of Maine in Orono, ME and University of Maine at Presque Isle in Presque Isle, ME. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Orono, ME · Public
Acceptance rate: 96.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 8,496
Tuition: $36,756/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 54.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Engineering, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Orono, ME with published program strength in Business and marketing and Engineering.
Presque Isle, ME · Public
Acceptance rate: 99.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,913
Tuition: $14,862/year
Student-faculty ratio: 30.0:1
Graduation rate: 51.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Presque Isle, ME with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
| Factor | University of Maine | University of Maine at Presque Isle |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 96.6% | 99.9% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 26 average | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 8,496 | 1,913 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $36,756/year | $14,862/year |
| Average net price after aid | $17,510 | $7,035 |
| Graduation rate | 54.9% | 51.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $48,653 | $40,956 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 30.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Orono, ME | Presque Isle, ME |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Engineering, Education | Business and marketing, Psychology, Social sciences |
University of Maine is more selective (96.6% vs 99.9% acceptance rate). University of Maine at Presque Isle has a lower average net price after grant aid ($7,035 vs $17,510). University of Maine reports the higher graduation rate (54.9% vs 51.5%). University of Maine is the larger undergraduate campus (8,496 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Maine vs University of Maine at Farmington
96.6% vs 96.7% acceptance rate
University of Maine vs University of Maine at Fort Kent
96.6% vs 97.9% acceptance rate
University of Maine vs University of New England
96.6% vs 91.6% acceptance rate
University of Maine vs Thomas College
96.6% vs 96.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Maine and University of Maine at Presque Isle
University of Maine has an acceptance rate of 96.6%; University of Maine at Presque Isle is around 99.9%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Maine tuition is $36,756/year. University of Maine at Presque Isle is $14,862/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool