Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Maine and University of New England are both public institutions — University of Maine in Orono, ME and University of New England in Biddeford, ME. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Orono, ME · Public
Acceptance rate: 96.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 8,496
Tuition: $36,756/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 54.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Engineering, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Orono, ME with published program strength in Business and marketing and Engineering.
Biddeford, ME · Private
Acceptance rate: 91.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,135
Tuition: $44,210/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 68.3%
Top programs: Health professions, Biological sciences, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Biddeford, ME with published program strength in Health professions and Biological sciences.
| Factor | University of Maine | University of New England |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 96.6% | 91.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 26 average | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 8,496 | 2,135 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $36,756/year | $44,210/year |
| Average net price after aid | $17,510 | $38,107 |
| Graduation rate | 54.9% | 68.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $48,653 | $55,921 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Orono, ME | Biddeford, ME |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Engineering, Education | Health professions, Biological sciences, Business and marketing |
University of New England is more selective (91.6% vs 96.6% acceptance rate). University of Maine has a lower average net price after grant aid ($17,510 vs $38,107). University of New England reports the higher graduation rate (68.3% vs 54.9%). University of Maine is the larger undergraduate campus (8,496 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Maine vs University of Maine at Farmington
96.6% vs 96.7% acceptance rate
University of Maine vs University of Maine at Presque Isle
96.6% vs 99.9% acceptance rate
University of Maine vs University of Maine at Fort Kent
96.6% vs 97.9% acceptance rate
University of Maine vs Thomas College
96.6% vs 96.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Maine and University of New England
University of Maine has an acceptance rate of 96.6%; University of New England is around 91.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Maine tuition is $36,756/year. University of New England is $44,210/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool