Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor and University of Virginia-Main Campus are both public institutions — University of Michigan-Ann Arbor in Ann Arbor, MI and University of Virginia-Main Campus in Charlottesville, VA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Ann Arbor, MI · Public
Acceptance rate: 15.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 34,177
Tuition: $60,946/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 93.2%
Top programs: Computer science, Engineering, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Ann Arbor, MI with published program strength in Computer science and Engineering.
Charlottesville, VA · Public
Acceptance rate: 16.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 17,597
Tuition: $59,512/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 95.6%
Top programs: Social sciences, Computer science, Engineering
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Charlottesville, VA with published program strength in Social sciences and Computer science.
| Factor | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor | University of Virginia-Main Campus |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 15.6% | 16.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1360–1530 |
| 1410–1540 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 31–34 | 32–35 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 34,177 | 17,597 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $60,946/year | $59,512/year |
| Average net price after aid | $13,138 | $21,565 |
| Graduation rate | 93.2% | 95.6% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $83,648 | $86,863 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 11.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Ann Arbor, MI | Charlottesville, VA |
| Largest program areas | Computer science, Engineering, Social sciences | Social sciences, Computer science, Engineering |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (15.6% vs 16.8%). University of Michigan-Ann Arbor has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,138 vs $21,565). University of Virginia-Main Campus reports the higher graduation rate (95.6% vs 93.2%). University of Michigan-Ann Arbor is the larger undergraduate campus (34,177 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor vs Hillsdale College
15.6% vs 20.7% acceptance rate
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor vs Lake Superior State University
15.6% vs Not reported acceptance rate
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor vs University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
15.6% vs 15.3% acceptance rate
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor vs Walsh College
15.6% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of Michigan-Ann Arbor and University of Virginia-Main Campus
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor has an acceptance rate of 15.6%; University of Virginia-Main Campus is around 16.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor tuition is $60,946/year. University of Virginia-Main Campus is $59,512/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool