Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of New Mexico-Main Campus and New Mexico Highlands University are both public institutions — University of New Mexico-Main Campus in Albuquerque, NM and New Mexico Highlands University in Las Vegas, NM. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Albuquerque, NM · Public
Acceptance rate: 95.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 17,244
Tuition: $33,060/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 54.7%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Albuquerque, NM with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Las Vegas, NM · Public
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 1,451
Tuition: $12,336/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 26.2%
Top programs: Health professions, Education, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Las Vegas, NM with published program strength in Health professions and Education.
| Factor | University of New Mexico-Main Campus | New Mexico Highlands University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 95.2% | Not reported |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 890–1170 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 19–26 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 17,244 | 1,451 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $33,060/year | $12,336/year |
| Average net price after aid | $15,489 | $14,838 |
| Graduation rate | 54.7% | 26.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $44,792 | $45,937 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Albuquerque, NM | Las Vegas, NM |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology | Health professions, Education, Business and marketing |
New Mexico Highlands University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($14,838 vs $15,489). University of New Mexico-Main Campus reports the higher graduation rate (54.7% vs 26.2%). University of New Mexico-Main Campus is the larger undergraduate campus (17,244 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs New Mexico State University-Main Campus
95.2% vs 89.0% acceptance rate
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
95.2% vs 91.7% acceptance rate
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development
95.2% vs 97.5% acceptance rate
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs Western New Mexico University
95.2% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of New Mexico-Main Campus and New Mexico Highlands University
University of New Mexico-Main Campus has an acceptance rate of 95.2%; New Mexico Highlands University is around Not reported. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of New Mexico-Main Campus tuition is $33,060/year. New Mexico Highlands University is $12,336/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool