Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
University of New Mexico-Main Campus and New Mexico State University-Main Campus are both public institutions — University of New Mexico-Main Campus in Albuquerque, NM and New Mexico State University-Main Campus in Las Cruces, NM. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Albuquerque, NM · Public
Acceptance rate: 95.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 17,244
Tuition: $33,060/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 54.7%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Albuquerque, NM with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Las Cruces, NM · Public
Acceptance rate: 89.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 11,946
Tuition: $25,307/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 55.2%
Top programs: Engineering, Business and marketing, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Las Cruces, NM with published program strength in Engineering and Business and marketing.
| Factor | University of New Mexico-Main Campus | New Mexico State University-Main Campus |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 95.2% | 89.0% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) | 890–1170 | 870–1110 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 19–26 | 17–24 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 17,244 | 11,946 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $33,060/year | $25,307/year |
| Average net price after aid | $15,489 | $8,889 |
| Graduation rate | 54.7% | 55.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $44,792 | $39,067 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 16.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Albuquerque, NM | Las Cruces, NM |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology | Engineering, Business and marketing, Health professions |
New Mexico State University-Main Campus is more selective (89.0% vs 95.2% acceptance rate). New Mexico State University-Main Campus has a lower average net price after grant aid ($8,889 vs $15,489). Both report a similar graduation rate (54.7%). University of New Mexico-Main Campus is the larger undergraduate campus (17,244 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
95.2% vs 91.7% acceptance rate
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development
95.2% vs 97.5% acceptance rate
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs Western New Mexico University
95.2% vs Not reported acceptance rate
University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs New Mexico Highlands University
95.2% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between University of New Mexico-Main Campus and New Mexico State University-Main Campus
University of New Mexico-Main Campus has an acceptance rate of 95.2%; New Mexico State University-Main Campus is around 89.0%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
University of New Mexico-Main Campus tuition is $33,060/year. New Mexico State University-Main Campus is $25,307/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool